Four members of Oath Keepers convicted on January 6


Decision comes as federal prosecutors make final arguments against Proud Boys members charged with seditious conspiracy.

Four members of the far-right group known as the Oath Keepers have been convicted of their roles in the deadly attack on the Capitol on January 6, 2021, as the United States government continues to pursue criminal charges against participants.

Oath Keeper employees Sandra Ruth Parker, Laura Steele, Connie Meggs and William Isaacs were found guilty on Monday of obstructing an official proceeding and several other felony and misdemeanor charges. They face sentences of up to 20 years in prison.

- Advertisement -

The same jury in Washington, DC, acquitted two other defendants, Michael Greene and Bennie Parker, of the most serious charges.

U.S. District Judge Amit Mehta told jurors to continue deliberating on the two remaining charges against the two men. Both were convicted of lesser felonies for entering restricted grounds on the Capitol campus, though neither had entered the building itself.

The convictions conclude the third major trial of Oath Keeper members for the events of January 6, 2021. On that day, supporters of then US President Donald Trump stormed the seat of the US Congress in an attempt to defeat the certification of the 2020 election results. to disturb. , which revealed that Trump had lost to Democrat Joe Biden.

- Advertisement -

Oath Keepers founder Stewart Rhodes had previously been convicted of seditious conspiracy charges in November, one of the most substantial victories for federal prosecutors to date.

The charge of seditious conspiracy is rarely used and difficult to prove. Rhodes and his co-defendant Kelly Meggs were the first in nearly three decades to be successfully convicted of seditious conspiracy.

On Monday, federal prosecutors also closed their case against Enrique Tarrio and several members of the far-right group the Proud Boys. The defendants are also charged with seditious conspiracy for their role in the alleged plot to stop the transfer of power.

- Advertisement -

Tarrio, founder of the Proud Boys, faces up to 20 years in prison if found guilty.

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *